Weird Clicking in My Shoulder

I’ve been visiting the Warrior Dash website a lot lately.  Each time I go to the gym I keep it in mind.  Recently, I was at the YMCA trying my hand at the Shoulder Press machine.  I like to use the machines because the weights are somewhat hidden from view; so no one can see how weak I actually am!  As I was bringing the bar down I felt and heard a clicking in my shoulder. There was no pain, but I knew I shouldn’t be clicking.  I asked a Y staff member for advice. He showed me my bad form. Seems your elbows should not be sticking out to your sides during a Shoulder Press.

But, I have found a way to get in some good preparation while the boys are swimming.  The Y has a Vortex that I walk around in. Now I’ll be ready to wade through the river during the Dash.

Sometimes I feel SO unprepared for the gym.  I look around and see all of these guys lifting weights and pulling ropes and I feel so out of place.  I haven’t REALLY lifted weights since my Freshman year in college.  It can be quite intimidating.  But this time I am going to stick with it.  I am tired of getting tired going up stairs. I am tired of not being able to run and play with the boys like I know I should. And I am tired of looking in the mirror and being surprised by myself.  This is the year for my transformation.

 

About eadesfedup

A guy who wants to be around less...well, at least less a round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

